Making life happen · Motherhood

I want to be a child again

Yesterday I was tired and grumpy for what felt like no good reason.

Im not sure why, maybe it was because I hadn’t slept. I really thought I had figured out my baby’s sleep patterns. Whatever…

It was a quiet weekend at home. I had even gone out with friends.The baby did cry all the way home. That did take some joy out of the equation.

Not to mention I had fallen asleep in my jeans. I really hate it when that happens.

I broke down in front of my husband twice, asking if I were a good wife, apparently he does.

So I read some Quran and hugged my kids.

Sometimes I want to be a child again. About 6 or 7 years old, before peer pressure really kicks in. I played outside with friends and ate good food and slept in my cosy bed.

Whatever issues one might have with parents, if you look back that far, its always eat, play sleep.

I’ve got some green trees and grass in my picture too.

Alhamdulillah, at least I had that, because while I reminisce I can’t help but think of children that live in war zones and drug filled abusive homes and many other dire circumstances that I don’t even know exist.

I should be so happy, so content with my life.

My adult life may be busy and full of responsibility, yet I am greatly blessed.

But most of all I had a childhood.

There isn’t much I need to say about those children. We see them every day all over social media. I can’t look at the pictures anymore. I try to visualise their lives. I can’t, I don’t want to.

I look around at my circle of influence, it doesn’t go very far, but I can try and raise my children in a healthy and wholesome environment and teach them to be citizens of the world. Thats where it all starts. The movers and shakers of the world today, were all children once.

My child and every child whose parent I know, or can read what I write, we have to start at home, building love, tolerance and compassion within families and without.

I’ve always wished I had a basket full of pixie dust. I’d blow it around the world.

I guess this is it. It’s just a few words and a bit of love, but it might just be worth something.

 

Leave a Reply

