Making life happen · Motherhood

Pitfalls of the Happy Family – 1

I don’t remember my mom ever saying she was tired. I say it to my kids all the time.

I say it so they know to help by being on their best behaviour, I say it so they know I may not be able to give them what they want right away. I say it so they don’t feel disappointed I didn’t read them that story, or make their favourite food.

Most of all, I say it because, I want them to know that I’m not super mom and that everyone has shortcomings.

I don’t want them to expect perfection of themselves or of anyone else. I’d rather they don’t become one of those kids who idealise their parents and wonder “how mom and dad did it”. Its one of those things that I see as a pitfall of the happy family.

Maybe I’m wrong, but I believe that our children should know we’re not perfect and that there is more than one way to do everything and that different people have different limitations and that we shouldn’t expect more than that.

That is why we are judged by our intentions in front of Allah, not by the apparent.

إِنَّمَا الأَعْمَالُ بِالنِّيَّةِ وَإِنَّمَا لاِمْرِئٍ مَا نَوَى

Actions are but by intention and every man shall have but that which he intended..

(Bukhari and Muslim)

I hope, that knowing all this will help them form better relationships, especially with their spouses. So they won’t be rigid in their ways and be more than willing to create new ways that suit their new families, because honestly that’s one of the things I feel makes and breaks families.

So dear, today I’m tired…

Leave a Reply

