Motherhood

Do you play enough?

I homeschool 3 of my children. I spend all day with them, morning till night, everyday.

We do math and reading, spelling, grammar and science. We even explore together.

But I don’t play. I don’t sit and enjoy the sound of their laughter or run and play tag. We don’t play boardgames often enough.

My husband, who works from 7 to 7, 12 hours a day, 5 days a week and often on weekends, plays more with them.

When we’re done with “work” and the many co ops I’ve signed up for, I like to hide somewhere in the house, with my cup of tea and recuperate.

Despite all the stuff I’ve read about letting the kids play on their own, I really want to be a part of their world.

I’m so busy working hard to make memories, and a love of learning, I forget to play.

Leave a Reply

